United Liberation Movement for West PapuaWest Papua HeadlinesULMWP President confirms Government-in-waiting

ULMWP President confirms Government-in-waiting


By Len Garae

:Source Daily Post Vanuatu
The United Liberation Movement for West Papua (ULMWP) has held a major internal meeting on the Island of New Guinea to reaffirm the Resolutions of the 2023 Congress.

Approved by ULMWP President Benny Wenda and Prime Minister (PM) Edison Waromi, 12 Cabinet Ministers and seven Regional Executives have been reaffirmed in their existing roles.

With this move, the ULMWP is building capacity on the ground and confirming its status as a government-in-waiting.

President Wenda said the ULMWP is the legitimate representative of West Papuans and is ready to represent West Papua at the Melanesian Spearhead Group (MSG).

The first ULMWP Congress was held in November 2023 in Jayapura, West Papua.

Attended by over 5,000 West Papuans from all factions and all seven customary regions, the Congress attendees elected Mr. Benny Wenda as ULMWP President and Mr. Edison Waromi as Prime Minister.

The final Congress Resolutions reaffirmed the ULMWP’s existing 2020 Constitution, internal structure, and threefold roadmap of a) MSG full membership b) a UN Human Rights visit to West Papua c) a Self-Determination Referendum.

An internal ULMWP meeting was held on the Island of New Guinea in April 2024, and was attended by the majority of the Executive and Cabinet. All Cabinet Ministers were invited.

The ULMWP Executive clarified the results of the 2023 Congress and confirmed the Constitution and Congress Resolutions.

The existing ULMWP roadmap, constitution, and Green State Vision were all reaffirmed.

President Wenda confirmed the current 12 Cabinet Ministers and seven Regional Executives were all also reaffirmed in their existing roles.

They are as follows: Department of Foreign Affairs — Dr Jacob Rumbiak, Department of Environment & Green State Policy — Ms Fanny Kogoya, Department of Home Affairs – Mr. Markus Haluk, Department of Justice & Rights of All Beings – Mr. Daniel Radongkir S.Sos, Department of Political Affairs – Mr. Bazoka Y Logo, TABI – Mr. Benny Yanteo, SAIRERI – Mr. Edison Kendi, DOMBERAI – Mr. Markus Yenu, BOMBERAI – Mr. Erick Fimbay, ANIMHA – Mr. Mathias Tambaip, MEE – PAGO – Mr. Habel Nawipa, LA – PAGO – Mr. Herman Kossay, Department of Indonesia Affairs – Mr. Jack W, Department of Melanesian Affairs — Costantinopel Ruhukael, Department of Women and Child affairs – Ms Iche R Morib, Department of Social and Cultural Affairs – Mr. Sem Awom, Department of Police — Dr Frans F Kapisa, Department of Defense -Mr. Manase Tabuni and Department of Finance — Ms Esther Game.

Contact us

Telp.: +44(0)7469 473576

[email protected]


Free West Papua Campaign

Back to Top